Powered by Blogger.

50 things about myself

Wednesday, February 28, 2007

I don't know if I'm that interesting, but I've seen other adoption blogs with this theme and have enjoyed them...thought I'd give it a try.

  1. 1. I'm 36 years old.
  2. 2. I was born in Illinois.
  3. 3. I have two brothers, both of them younger.
  4. 4. My father always wanted to adopt another child, but my mother didn't think she could handle another kid. I guess we were too much for her! (I blame my brothers for that!:)
  5. 5. Now more than half of their grandchildren are adopted (6 out of 11...soon to be 8 out of 13!).
  6. 6. My dad is an ordained minister from Pennsylvania...my mom is a school district bookkeeper from Colorado. They met at Moody Bible Institute in Chicago in the 60s.
  7. 7. I have a very big extended family on both sides. I have one cousin who has 16 kids (many of them adopted) and another who has 9 kids (7 of them adopted). We're big into adoption in our family! :)
  8. 8. Two of us have adopted internationally...a cousin on my dad's side has adopted from China (my brother and sister-in-law are getting ready to go to China too.)
  9. 9. I've lived in four different states and have moved 19 times in my life...most of them before I turned 10 and after I got married.
  10. 10. I grew up in a small town in northeastern Colorado.
  11. 11. It was very small...only 100 people in the town/500 in the (farming) community.
  12. 12. As a girl I earned money in the summer by pulling rye out of my uncle's wheat fields.
  13. 13. I was named to the All-State volleyball team my senior year in high school...but I didn't get a scholarship to play in college because I tore my ACL playing basketball later that year.
  14. 14. I only had three people in my graduating class...one of them was a second cousin. (told you I had a big family! :)
  15. 15. In 1989 I married my high school sweetheart - he wasn't one of my classmates.
  16. 16. We've been married for 17 years.
  17. 17. I attended three different colleges before graduating from Kansas State in the early 90s with a degree in journalism.
  18. 18. I am a former television photojournalist.
  19. 19. On April 19, 1995, I was sent to cover the Oklahoma City Bombing. I spent a week there. It changed my life. Every year on the anniversary of the bombing I get a little weepy. I guess I'll never get those images out of my mind.
  20. 20. I love storm chasing - good thing since I live in tornado alley!
  21. 21. I love spring, autumn and winter...can't stand summer.
  22. 22. I can't stand summer because I am terrified of wasps.
  23. 23. I work for a newspaper as an advertorial writer...nobody really knows what that is!
  24. 24. Part of my job includes writing for a women's magazine.
  25. 25. I also organize a women's expo each year which has about 3,000 visitors.
  26. 26. I grew up as a tomboy.
  27. 27. I love all kinds of sports.
  28. 28. My favorite teams are the Pittsburgh Pirates, Pittsburgh Steelers and the K-State Wildcats.
  29. 29. As a girl I dreamed of playing second base for the Pirates.
  30. 30. I am a voracious reader.
  31. 31. If allowed, I will read two or three books a weekend - with three kids that doesn't happen very often! :)
  32. 32. I can drive a stick shift.
  33. 33. I would like to write Christian fiction some day.
  34. 34. I would also like to be a stay-at-home mom.
  35. 35. I always wished I had a sister.
  36. 36. My best friend is the youngest of three children - also has two brothers - she's the sister I never had.
  37. 37. I am way too organized. On our first adoption trip I took every piece of paper we had pertaining to the adoption in a three-ring binder to Russia and hauled it with me whereever we went - just in case someone needed to see a paper to prove he was really ours.
  38. 38. For the first week after we adopted our oldest son I felt like we were babysitting. It didn't sink in that he was really ours until we got home and he threw up on me for the first time.
  39. 39. I've been in the hospital more times than I can count, but not for anything serious. The list of operations include tonsils, ACL reconstruction and orthoscopic knee surgery. I also had pneumonia a couple of times as a kid. Otherwise I'm pretty healthy! :)
  40. 40. Someday I'd like to have a black BMW or Mercedes...but since this is our fourth international adoption I don't think that's going to happen! :)
  41. 41. I like NASCAR.
  42. 42. My favorite driver is Tony Stewart.
  43. 43. I'm not a rabid NASCAR fan...I just enjoy watching the wrecks.
  44. 44. I have recently become addicted to blogs.
  45. 45. I especially like blogs about international adoption.
  46. 46. I am also addicted to chocolate. Anything chocolate really.
  47. 47. My favorite chocolate confection are brownies...I can not resist brownies!
  48. 48. I made a batch of brownies last night and they're almost gone!
  49. 49. I have two dogs and two cats...that's what I get for being married to a veterinarian!
  50. 50. I'm a born again Christian, who loves God with all that I am...but it's a constant struggle to trust Him with EVERYTHING! I'm still working on it.

1 salty messages:

Missy February 28, 2007 at 8:02 PM  

I did 100 things about me not long after I started my blog. Isn't it hard to think of things about yourself? I found it VERY interesting! Thanks so much!!

Post a Comment

joy of adoption




Networked Blog Followers

  © Blogger template On The Road by Ourblogtemplates.com 2009

Back to TOP